Posted by: cousindampier | 19 December 2011

Me and My Brain

So Christopher Hitchens dies.  He was quite a hero of mine, and I spend the next few days reading various tributes to him.  And I think, “man, I would like to have that ability.  I want to be so well read, and be able to recite passages from memory.”  Because, who doesn’t want that ability?

Except I have the ability to recite nearly any stand-up comedy passage I’ve ever heard and yet can’t remember the goddamn name of the narrator in the Great Gatsby, my favourite novel.

THANKS FOR THIS, BRAIN.

Leave a Reply

Categories

